Shreveport, Louisiana, is a big city. If you live there, then you must know that the streets are always crowded with cars and traffic jams are now natural occurrences in the citizens’ daily lives. This is probably why personal injury cases are more frequent than other cases. If you’re one of the unfortunate citizens of Shreveport who has been recently involved in a car accident, then the following guide might help as to what steps to take next.
Types of Personal Injuries
Before you take any measures, you need to know what type of injury you have first and whether it is covered by the personal injury law. Consulting a Personal Injury Lawyer in Shreveport, LA is also a wise step if you’re not sure whether your injury falls under the personal injury category. Usually, determining whether the accident you were involved in falls under personal injury law is easy. Here are the types of accidents handled by personal injury law in Shreveport:
- 18-wheeler accidents
- Drunk driving accidents
- Car wrecks
- Commercial vehicle accidents
- Vehicle rollovers
- Wrongful death cases
- Offshore and maritime cases
- Personal injury cases involving injuries like brain injuries, amputations, fractures, burns, and disc injuries.
If the accident you were involved in is on this list, then you can proceed with hiring a lawyer. You’re probably shocked or disoriented because of the accident, so hiring professional help to take the reins will be best for you, especially if you have little to no knowledge of the legal system.
How to File a Case
All legal actions have limited timing to be executed. According to the statutes of limitations in the US, filing lawsuits can only be available for a certain amount of time after the accident. Usually, this time duration is two years, but because the statutes of limitations differ according to the state, in Louisiana, you have a one-year duration to file your lawsuit. So, it’s better to do it as soon as possible.
Now that you know when you’re going to file your suit, the real action begins. The first thing you’ll do is file a complaint, in which you must include facts and the basis of your lawsuit, identify the plaintiff, which is you, and identify the defendant, the person responsible for your injury. Next, you will write sentences or paragraphs explaining the legal theories and the reasons for your allegations. You should also include the damage you’re expecting from the defendant.
You will also have to file a summons, which is a document that identifies both parties and informs the defendant that he is being sued. Last but not least, you will have to pay a fee. The amount will differ according to the court; however, it will usually range from$100 to $400. Finally, you should serve a copy of both the summons and the complaint on the defendant to ensure that the court has jurisdiction over the defendant. The defendant should then respond to your complaint by either admitting or denying the allegations, or he can file a motion to dismiss.
The process of filing a lawsuit is not as difficult as it might seem. All you need to do is to know your rights, get your facts right, and hire a competent lawyer who will guide you through the legal bits you have little knowledge of and don’t forget about the deadline the statute of limitations imposes.
Be the first to comment on "Personal Injury Cases in Shreveport"